584,812 active members*
5,252 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    48

    Using GOTO in a mazak program

    I am running a program being drip feed to a mazak control
    machine is PH4800
    the program is running standard eia G-code

    is it possible to use a GOTO N " line number"
    then have a N statement at each tool?
    Will this allow me to jump to specific tool numbers in the drip feed program?

    If so how would I format this statement for a mazak control?

    Thanks for the help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    GOTO statements have the same format as a FANUC machine (and many others). However, if you're dripfeeding, you can't GOTO beyond what remains in the front memory or main memory buffer. Many controls will simply give you an alarm. There are some ways around this by using WHILE/DO loops or sub-programming for example. But drip feeding puts a lot of limitations to what you can or can't do for many controls...

    What control model are you using? Some of this you can get around by using the memory card or USB instead of RS-232....
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9

    goto

    What format does the GOTO command need to be entered, my keeps adding zeros after each letter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    GOTO is part of Fanuc macro.
    Mazak EIA mode is not the best implementation of a G-code interpreter.
    I seriously doubt it will understand any macro commands.
    The fact that your control adds zeros after the letters means it does not accept GOTO..... because it does not understand or have Fanuc macro capabilities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    I'm not sure what "Ford" is getting at here but....

    Mazak running EIA has no issues with macros as it is done all over the world.

    Curious about what you mean by "control adds zeroes...." and what control are you using?
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    338
    I agree with everything psychomill said.

    We have a mazak with a nexus control and eia runs just like on a fanuc control. Older Mazak controls might not be as compatible.

    For me
    Code:
    GOTO 20
    ...
    ...
    N0020
    works just fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    it doesn't work on older Mazak controls like T2/T32/T Plus etc. that's what I was talking about

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    gotta be clear Ford.... .... you're going back a few generations of controls there....


    can't speak for T2, 32 or Plus .... Too many years ago and I can't remember....

    However on M32 or Plus..... No problem! (can't remember M2 or older anymore...)



    GDT222 doesn't say what machine or control is being used here.... So I still don't get the "adding zeroes" thing....
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    4
    we use GOTO all the time on our T + machines

Similar Threads

  1. iso program within mazatrol (mazak VTC200C)
    By Bodie in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2019, 03:09 PM
  2. Mazak M2 Sample program EIA
    By zabba in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 12:23 PM
  3. Simple loop program for mazak
    By katsbobo in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2008, 12:11 AM
  4. GOTO Z
    By monte55 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-06-2008, 04:03 PM
  5. Mazak Program Rotation Code?
    By Cascade Dave in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2006, 08:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •