585,715 active members*
3,745 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Casting Metals > Making Plaster mold for casting A356

Making Plaster mold for casting A356

Hi

Does any one have experiance of making plaster molds for parts like this????
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails version2.jpg  

sure. I have lots of experience in producing plaster molds and plaster mold castings. are you looking for advice on making the mold, or are you looking for a casting source?

looking for resources

Hi esscasting

I am looking for some information or journal or litrature which explains the process. I thought of making the mold out of plaster but now i am thinking to make it out DFS (dense fused silica) and heating it in a furnace. DFS because it has the properties required for my experiment.

I also thought of making the pattern out of ABS instead of wood.

well, without knowing too much detail about your project (part geometry, quantity and tooling life) and priorities (time vs $ invested vs metallurgy requirements), it's difficult for me to provide any advice. I'm not particularly familiar with DFS, but I'm under the impression that it is used to make a semi-permanent mold which it typically done for production quantities. Depending upon part shape complexity and size, this could result in significant greater investment in tooling compared to prototype/low-volume methods like traditional sand casting or plaster mold casting.

for information on a variety of casting processes, there are several books on Amazon that are fairly cheap, my guess is they are useful for the hobbyist only. If you're experiment is for a high precision, complex-shape then, I'd recommend starting at the American Foundrymen Society, www.afsinc.com. there is a searchable library in their technical section, but I'm sure you'll have to pay considerable $.

millions of parts like this are cast in green sand molds