585,728 active members*
4,383 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > basic questions about CAD and CAM...

Question basic questions about CAD and CAM...

HI THERE,

I am a CNC hobbyist. In fact I am still finishing fabricating my machine as we speak so I am very new at all this. I am using Kcam, although it is been only a few weeks, I find it really good.
    Forgive my ignorance, but I have a really basic question in regards to CAD and CAM....

KCAM imports Gcodes and make the mill follow them and thus cut material right??... How do you generate gcodes.... Is that what the CAD softwares do? For instance if I want to make a part, would i just design it in a CAD software and export it as a gcode into KCAM? If so, what CAD software would you recommend for hobbyist who are just kinda "messing around" with their home made CNCs? Something easy to learn, decent and cheap...

I also have a question in regards to spindle set up. HOw do you set up the spindle with the software and the parralle pins? I have an AC motor that makes my spindle turns with the help of a belt. I have just a simple on/off switch for it, but started noticing that KCAM offers some spindle options such as CW and CCW as well as ON/OFF, through the use of one of the parrarel pins. How would i set that up? Do i need a controller specifically for the spindle motor before i can set it up in KCAM?

thank you for all your help
    MAX

Smile Welcome to the Zone

Max,

There are several ways to turn the spindle on or off, a simple method would be with a solid state relay connected to your breakout board.

In order to control the speed of the spindle through software a VFD would be a good choice.

Welcome to the Zone

Jeff Alessi

Jeff,
    Thanks a lot for the quick response.
    Are you by any chance the famous/talented motocross racer #801, brother of Mike???? (google him/youself, you will know what i mean)