567,224 active members*
3,816 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Point Cloud

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    6

    Point Cloud

    I got about 2500 points in a point cloud. Some follow a grid, but most are random. I had hoped to use a spline in Autocad then loft the splines, but I have too many random points that I need to get the most accurate surface. Any other solutions?

    Software I have to work with:

    Inventor 9
    Mechanical Desktop 2005
    Autocad 2005
    Esprit 2003
    Rhino 3

    or what else would work best?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    340
    I don't think there are any easy solutions, that is why you have to be careful about how you digitize.

    Graham

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2103
    Freddy I am not 100% sure but I think you can use Rhino, select the cloud, select the drape command and it will give you a surface....or something like it.

    Again I have never done this but I have read somewhere that is what the drape command is for. Should be worth a try. I would also go to the Rhino newsgroup and pose the question about how to do it.

    Mike
    No greater love can a man have than this, that he give his life for a friend.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    340
    I don't think you can drape over a point cloud in Rhino, I couldn't anyway. But like Mike says it can't hurt to ask.

    Graham

  5. #5

    Datacad Dropmesh

    Datacad (www.datacad.com) has a "Dropmesh" command in the 3d polygon menu. It drops a user-defined grid on a set of points or lines. A little like dropping a wet blanket on a bunch of objects. It attempts to model terrain and such but the perimeters of stiffness etcetera can be adjusted. I've used it for architectural models as Datacad is set up for architects and such.

    I've got a web page at
    http://g.wheeler.home.att.net/cnc.html
    that explains some of the process, although it hasn't been worked on for about a year, you can probably figure it out.

    Autoc*** can probably do the same.

    Gary

Similar Threads

  1. Point cloud editing
    By CNCgr in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2005, 05:06 PM
  2. Software to manipulate point clouds?
    By ckirchen in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-05-2005, 02:07 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2005, 04:16 PM
  4. point data in autocad
    By trubleshtr in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2005, 12:32 PM
  5. Point Cloud Conversions
    By Fish in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-27-2004, 03:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •