585,932 active members*
3,582 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Mill Project Questions

Hello all. I've been lurking here, well, for years actually. I'm a woodworker for the most part, but also do some metal working for various projects. I have a bridgeport clone and a south bend 9" that is in various stages of reconditioning. I also have an old 22" Voest that sorta scares me to death...

I used to work with a chair maker who built his own huge cnc router, and I found the idea of building your own machinery fascinating. That was years ago, and since then I've spent a great deal of time reading the posts here, collecting random parts, and have finally decided to plunge into a small build. I figure that materials and components are relatively inexpensive and abundant for a small machine, making this a good learning experience. Y'know, before I get to work on the 5-axis gantry router I'd love to have

I've decided to get to work on a small CNC mill, and would rather start from scratch rather than convert a chinese mill. My intent is to roughly follow the same build on 5 Bears website (www.5bears.com/cnc.htm) because I happen to have access to some heavy extruded aluminum columns and somewhere in one of these boxes I have an assortment of THK HSR25 & 30 linear bearings and rails. I also have a new set of Keling 382oz/in stepper motors that I acquired last year and I'm hoping the G540 drive will poke it's head into the market soon!