585,741 active members*
5,159 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > CamWorks > LOOKING FOR BASIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR CAMWORKS

LOOKING FOR BASIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR CAMWORKS

Saturday, July 19, 2008 2:51 am

RE: LOOKING FOR BASIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR CAMWORKS

Hello,

This is my first time to post a question.

I am working on an independent study project at (unnamed) University this summer. My project is to design my part, using Solidworks, to be injection molded, create the mold around it, separate the mold and apply CamWorks to create the machine code to produce the mold Core and Cavity on a Hurco CNC mill. Once I have produced the mold, I am to produce 25 good parts using injection molding equipment.

I have designed my part, created and separated the mold, and am now trying to apply CamWorks. I have been struggling with this process all week. I am just trying to feel my way through, (I am now at the point of just using trial & error for everything), because I can find no documentation for the program and all of the students have gone home for the summer. Even in the Engineering Library there were only four books on Solidworks and none of them listed anything in the index for CamWorks.

I am getting pretty familiar with the process of applying CamWorks since I have now attempted it many, many times. (For most details I am applying 2.5 axis. On some I am applying 3 axis). One simple thing that is even messing me up is that when I run a simulation, the end mill often comes in from the bottom (with the part correctly oriented by first placing it in Isometric view), this is surely extremely easy to correct but I have yet to locate the exact place to establish the orientation. (As I said, I have no documentation to work with/from).

Some additional points that are giving me trouble include: