585,752 active members*
3,712 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Touching-off

Touching-off

Hi,

I have zero experience with milling, cad software and cam software. I am an inventor and work in composite materials for the most part.

I have done a bit of robotics and some machinery design and implementation in a production facility that I designed and built for a product that I invented.

During the plant build I did a little bit of milling work on a gear-head mill to make adapter plates and the like. I enjoyed the work and thought I would explore it more.

I purchased a HAAS Toolroom Mill TM-1 and thought I would figure it out.

I then had a design problem that I could not sort out by using AutoSketch. So I bought Alibre Design to get started in parametric modeling. It works OK but is sometimes surprising. The price was pretty good and did not require the investment of Solid Works or Solid Edge.

I then needed to make the parts I had designed on my mill. How hard could that be? So I purchased Alibre Cam and thought I just had to diddle around with it a bit and I could clamp the stock in my mill and turn on the machine and it would, you know, cut away all the stuff that didn't look like my part.

Incredible learning curve later I actually managed to make some sort of part that looked a lot like my drawings. In the interim I was close to going postal.

Now I am getting serious about making parts that are accurate and are well finished.

I am taking courses and getting advice from anyone who knows more about the topic than I do.

My question, and I do have one is this;

If I draw a part that needs to be machined on two sides and I fit my box stock in my cam program so that the least amount of material is cut from the bottom of the part and then I turn the part over, where should I touch-off the tools?