523,881 active members*
2,331 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > How to rough/finish threadmill in MCX?
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    410

    How to rough/finish threadmill in MCX?

    Anyone have an automatic way of getting X to create a rough then finish path when using the threadmill feature?
    I have been creating 2 arcs, one smaller than the final to create the rough cut, then selecting them in the appropriate order. This works only by moving the smaller arc to be used for roughing to a different center point.
    I would think that with all the features available this option would have been an easy one for the Mastercam programmers to think of and add in long ago - or maybe I'm missing it...
    Thanks,
    John B

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    263
    MCX gives you the option of multi rough passes and multi finish passes in the thread mill toolpath, it even allows you to change the fin rpm and feed rate
    If you can ENVISION it I can make it

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    410
    CNCKing, Where might this option be? My threadmilling looks almost identical to the MC9 panel, and I see nothing of this sort.
    Thanks, John

  4. #4
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3540
    Are you running the first version of Mastercam X and nothing newer?
    Sample picture. this from MCX-Mr1
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails thread mill MCX-Mr.jpg  
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    410
    I'm running SP1. I've installed the MR1/SP2 update, but it doesn't get settled in right and crashes my box over and over and over. My maintenance expired long ago, so I don't have the MR1 side of it running, just the SP2 side.
    I'm looking at X2 now, and that option will be in it certainly.

Similar Threads

  1. Rough Movement
    By dafowfidy in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 02:06 AM
  2. Very rough finish when turning 6061-T6 ... why?
    By cnczoner in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-16-2008, 11:24 PM
  3. Help making helical rough and finish milling
    By bob1112 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 01:38 AM
  4. z-rough question
    By dcrblazer in forum Surfcam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 08:55 AM
  5. Rough Movement
    By jhwatts in forum Xylotex
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-28-2006, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •