508,272 active members
3,070 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Programming with Focas library

    Hey guys, I'm new to the forum and I'm an ME student interning at a manufacturing company. We use mostly 4 axis machines with Fanuc controllers. The project I was just given was to use the Focas1/2 libraries and create a program that will display simple actions (spindle on/off, etc.) of the machines at any time. I have been researching and reading through the Focas documentation but I cannot figure out how to even start this project. I have done a little VBA and C++ and plan on using VB.NET for this project, but I am no programmer. Any help that you guys can provide or even just pointing me towards some tutorials would be amazing.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    12
    First Code in VB6 for Focas; Just in ordre to test the connection between your PC and the NControler

    '---------------------
    ' Ethernet connection
    '---------------------
    ' allocate library handle 3
    Declare Function cnc_allclibhndl3 Lib "fwlib32.dll" (ByVal sIPaddr As String, ByVal nPort As Integer, ByVal nTimeout As Long, FlibHndl As Integer) As Integer

    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Dim LibHndl As Integer
    Dim Ret As Integer

    Ret = cnc_allclibhndl3("192.0.0.1", "8193", 10, LibHndl)

    End Sub

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    Can u be little more specific with a sample code ??

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    26

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    Hi,
    although we're doing C++ programming the following might help:
    https://www.inventcom.net/support/fa...-states#SOURCE

    You can also take a look at the FOCAS documentation here:
    https://www.inventcom.net/support/fanuc/focas-library

    Martin

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    Hi,

    i'm a bit in late

    I'm trying to create a program (VB and Focas) whit the purpose to edit the part program from pc.

    First of all I've tested the Focas function and the IP setting on CNC trough a free demo application (Opn Communications): all works!

    Then I use command cnc_allclibhndl3 from my VB's program but it return me error number -15: "There is no DLL file for each CNC series corresponding to specified node"..
    What is mean?? I've incorporate in the folder of my VB's project the file Fwlib32.dll. Do I need some other library files?

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    60

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    Yes! there are other .dll than the fwlib32.dll, it depend on the control you're using

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    Thanks Vincent for the answer.

    I use a 31 series, so I put in the same folder (bin\debug) of fwlib32.dll the file fwlib31i.dll but the result don't change, always error number -15. I tried to add also the files of the whole series but nothing.

    Instead, if I add the files fwlibe1.dll and fwlib32.lib, running cnc_allclibhndl3 takes longer time and returns error number 172031984 (???). I don't understand

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    60

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    According to my documentation, with a 31i control you need the FWLIB30i.DLL, if it's a FS31i, you need the FWLIBNCG.DLL.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: Programming with Focas library

    I'll try with the fwlibncg.dll.
    Is it enough to put it in the folder or do I have to import it via vb code?
    Could you send me documentation via private message please? What I had was lost who knows where...

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    2
    I am also trying and getting error LNK1104,i have tried my best but in vain. Can You please suggest me how did you link Fwlib32.lib file in Linker-Input(Is there any special way to provide path).Kindly assist as you have crossed this stage.
    Anyways for error -15 I think you need to copy Fwlibe1.lib into debug folder where is your .cpp file.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    2
    Kindly someone suggest me how to get rid of LNK1104.This error has ruined my life.....I am simply copying path and pasting into Linker- Input and General.Looking for some assistance from you guys. Thanks in advance

Similar Threads

  1. Fanuc FOCAS Library
    By cduve in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2015, 10:33 PM
  2. Getting currently used tool info via FOCAS
    By xvanic04 in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2013, 01:58 PM
  3. FOCAS. What is that?
    By Leha_Blin in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-06-2013, 06:10 PM
  4. Fanuc FOCAS 31ib
    By abhthree in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2013, 06:19 PM
  5. G-code programming library in python
    By bermanmk in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 03:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •