585,996 active members*
4,402 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Which CNC Router plans would you recommend(HobbyCNC, Rockcliff, or JGRO?)?
Page 1 of 2 12

Question Which CNC Router plans would you recommend(HobbyCNC, Rockcliff, or JGRO?)?

I'm a relative newbie to the world of CNC, although I have been researching it online for many months, I just have to decide on a machine.

I know the basics of CNC (CNC=computer numerical controlled ), the different kinds of CNC (plasma, water cut, router, etc...).

So, like I said, its come down to choosing a machine. Now I know that when choosing a machine, its probably best to lay out what you want it to do:

I need a machine that can cut:

Foam
    Wood (various types, but probably MDF as a main one)
    even plastic, all the way up to ABS/polycarbonate

Is that too much to ask from one type of machine?

Now for the machine:

I'm looking at getting some plans; either HobbyCNC, RockcliffCNC, or some plans from this website, such as the JGRO machine.

For controller software I'm hoping EMC2 will meet most of my needs.

I hope to use this machine for cutting EPP foam and making R/C aircraft as well as making molds for vacuum forming with it eventually.

Help much appreciated,

LC

EDIT: Oh, and if use EMC2 as the controller software, how much do you think this project will cost? Can it be built for <$1k?

Welcome to the forum LC. I think that the capabilities that you want your machine to have are well within the performance parameters for most of the plans mentioned. The only thing I will point out is that you will only get a couple inches of Z height out one of these machines, which could be an issue if you want to cut tall blocks of foam.