585,727 active members*
3,815 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie to CNC world

I hope I am posting a thread at correct place, Newbie here....I was going to build homemade cnc machine. But I need to do a few research before I can perform my objectives. The objective for me is to build a cnc machine that can do milling on woods, plastics (lexan) and maybe pcbs (circuit board). So question with your recommendation: Where would be the best place to start learning how building homemade cnc machine?

In order to build cnc, what would be the first step to do?

electronics: Such as cnc circuity?
    Skills: I am somewhat proficent in electronics.

programming: AutoCad? I have AutoCad 2000.
    Skills: No skills, especially in mm type measurement, would like to learn it.

Tools/materials: Building a desk cnc? I am pretty good with cutting woods with band saw, table saw, and brench press drills. I am able to assembly them will hammer and nails, glue, and screws.

I have went through many other's builder website and read their work in progress. I seem to understand the picture they are doing but not the depth of making sure the cnc milling can do precise cutting and engraving according to program or g-code converter. So with your help would be much appreicated.

Arthur
    Arthur Prather
    Pratec Copyright © 2004

High Octane,