504,399 active members
5,512 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826

    Running Camsoft in a virtual machine

    While I have been running my Camsoft lathe retro on Win98, I do have newer and faster computers that I could be using.

    So rather than uninstall the operating system (XP) on the potential candidate computers, I was wondering about the possibilities of running Win98 in a virtual machine within XP. I've not experimented in that regard at all, and thought it would be interesting to know the ins and outs of doing this. I know, take something simple and make it complicated
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1491
    Why not just run Camsoft under XP? You do have to make a couple changes - no updates and no virus software running. Because I permanently disabled these features, I also made it so the internet isn't visable (Mac ID filtering on the router)

    Karl

  3. #3
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    I'm not sure if my dongle is good for the XP operating system. I'm also not eager to buy maintenance for a machine that is basically set up and done with.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    25
    Hmmmm. I may be missing something, but how about just taking the hard drive from your old 98 box and putting it into your newer box.

    Like Karl, I have been running a machine in production on XP and it works......... :-| (I would much rather see Camsoft running on Linux)

    I am not an expert on dongles, but I believe that they will work on most of the windoze flavors, although some may be more desirable than others.

    AL

  5. #5
    Registered camsoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    329
    Murray,

    We have both CNC Lite and Professional running under virtual machine under XP on one tech station and it does run, but not at the same performance, a minor few oddities but since the hardware drivers error using the virtual machine we use it in development mode only.

    To run motion you would need a straight 98 or XP system. We have Vista now too.

    A better idea is to look into the dual boot idea. Where some mother boards will allow you to place your original Win 98 hard disk into a new PC that has it's own hard disk for XP. When the PC boots a question appears giving you so many seconds to answer. Boot to Win98 or XP? This would be providing that Win98 has the generic Windows driver to talk to the Video card, Printer ect.. in this new PC.

    Tech Support
    CamSoft Corp.
    951-674-8100
    support@camsoftcorp.com
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Similar Threads

  1. How can I get my machine up and running?!
    By silverblown02 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2008, 06:03 PM
  2. Camsoft machine builders
    By bobk in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 06:46 PM
  3. Upload your video of you machine running with Mach
    By ynneb in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 11:44 PM
  4. Running BobCad/Cam and Mach 3 on the same machine?
    By Corvus corax in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 04:19 AM
  5. Virtual Machine Shop......
    By Moondog in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2004, 12:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •