585,743 active members*
4,744 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Help on deciding which CNC :)

Smile Help on deciding which CNC :)

Hey guys I am new to the CNC world but I have done my research

The main reason for CNC is 2d cutting, and text ingraving on plastics mainly.

My budget is $1000 for CNC machine excluding software

I am not going to be really using this CNC for too much fancy work mainly for case designs like the ones here:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...548#post493548
    I have came across a few on eBay and I was wondering what you guys think is a good one:

#1:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Hobo-Jr-rev-B-3-...QQcmdZViewItem

#2:
    [Not Buying]

#3:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ZENBOT-CNC-ROUTE...QQcmdZViewItem

What do you guys suggest is the best of the 3?

New Machine Choices

I just bought the Zenbot. It came in a couple of days ago and appears to be a good machine. I have not cut anything with it yet though. The biggest thing to consider with that one is that it is tiny. The other two machines you listed are larger. I can't speak for them since I don't own them. The only thing about #2 that strikes me is how you plan to hold your work down on the table. With a smooth surface like that, you may end up drilling some holes in it first. You might want to ask that guy what the hold-down setup should be (carpet tape perhaps???). I do like a moving table design though. Implementation is key. It can be a great design, but if the guy is a sloppy builder, it all goes to crap. That is kinda the risk you run in buying something from ebay. The first machine I bought via ebay looked good in the ad, but when I got it, I found out it was built crappy and didn't perform well. My new Zenbot looks good so far, but I have not put it through it's paces yet.