585,761 active members*
4,163 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Lenze VSD VFD Internals

Lenze VSD VFD Internals

Hi all.
    This is my first post here. I'm a Software Engineer witha strange desire to build an Electric Car using a 3 phase motor and an industrial Variable Speed Drive.

I need about a 30kW drive but have a limited budget. I have bought a 16kW drive with an idea to upgrading it's power.
    The story unfolds...

Does anyone here have experience with the internals of Lenze 9300 serial industrial Variable Speed Controllers?
    Specifically, the Lenze 9327, 9328 and 9329 (16, 22 and 30kW) all come in the same case size and weight. I have pulled my 9327 apart and it looks as if standard larger IGBTs will fit but I need to find out what stumbling blocks await me. I know that TECO VFDs let you change the Model in a parameter but Lenze play it a bit closer to their chest.
    Any info anyone?

This page has some information on .pdf files. You may find the answer there.

http://www.ctiautomation.net/Lenze-F...-Inverters.htm

Me Too

I've thought about the same thing, however all the VFD/VSDs inverters that I have seen go from 3 phase or single phase to DC then to 3 phase @ xxxHz. How are you planning to get rid of that 1st step and go from, say, 120v DC to 230v 3 phase? Are you going to try to control the motor speed using the VSD by changing the frequency or just trying to get from DC to 3 phase? How are you going to handle regen to save the batteries? I know that driving a 3 phase motor turns it into a generator (think rotary phase converter), but how are you going to get the output back from 3 phase to DC to charge the batteries? I don't know much about electrical/electronics but I sure would be interested in any updates or more info that you would like to share.

Using VFD in Electric Vehicle

Hi kidharris
    Using an industrial 3 phase VFD is surprisingly easy - sort of.