585,715 active members*
3,870 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Diagnosing VF-0E way lube problem

Diagnosing VF-0E way lube problem

Hi

The shop I work at has a 99 VF-0E that has been throwing alarm 121 recently, low lube or low pressure. Im fairly new to CNC machines and I am completely unfamiliar with the VF-0s way lube system. I played around with it a little on friday, so im hoping someone will be able to give me a little more insight on what to do next.

The first thing I did was manually pump the tank and watch the pressure reading. It went up to about 40 and then dropped to zero in less than a minute (just out of curiousity, what is the purpose of the hand pump?). I then wrote a little program to jog the axes back and forth and run the spindle while i watched the lube tank. The pressure never rose above zero and as far as i could tell the motor on the tank was not running.

Im guessing the fact that the system doesnt hold pressure very long indicates a leak in a line somewhere. Where in the world do I start looking for leaks?

Thanks

Lesson long learned. Call Selway and have them fix the problem and put your time into producing parts. You will end up doing calling them sooner or later and your machine is either running dry or not operational. It does't make busenss sense to mess with it.

I don't work for Haas or Selway but tried for years to maintain my own machines, it costs more in real money to do it the cheap way.

Eagle