585,717 active members*
3,755 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > 7x12 CNC mini lathe on ebay, should I buy?

7x12 CNC mini lathe on ebay, should I buy?

I am totally new to CNC zone. I registered because I want to get into CNC lathing, but I don't want to do the mod myself. And so many small CNC lathes are too much money. What is out there?

I found this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=220279605743

Or is there an alternative? What do you all think?
    Jason

I really do not want a big lathe. I would have no space for anything bigger.
    I have seen these 7x lathes in person before, and I like the size.

In other words, I want a small lathe. Are there any other options? Something equivalent is size to a 7x that is CNC out there?

I once saw an Emco CNC lathe station. It was a 7x I believe, but it was $40k on ebay. I just don't need a large lathe. I'm not turning truck axles or anything.

Jason

Quote Originally Posted by Jason23 View Post
    I am totally new to CNC zone. I registered because I want to get into CNC lathing, but I don't want to do the mod myself. And so many small CNC lathes are too much money. What is out there?

I found this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=220279605743

Or is there an alternative? What do you all think?
    Jason
    I can't believe that at that price it doesn't even have ballscrews. It seems way overpriced to me.

Alan

Is there another 7x CNC lathe I could get? What would be a good price?

That one on ebay seems pretty solid.

But I really do not have anything to compare. I need some options!

Jason

First I would suggest that you read through this forum. There is a wealth of knowledge. But to hurry up your process. You can get the lathe here http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=93799
    The kit here http://www.stirlingsteele.com/latheplans.html and the electronics crap here http://www.xylotex.com/