585,987 active members*
4,623 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > Torchmate > creating cut paths for single line text

creating cut paths for single line text

Hi I'm new to this industry just bought a torchmate 3 bolt together last december and finally put it together about 3 months ago.(had to build a shop around the table). Anyways today I was trying to cut out an oval sign with lettering on it in a font called scriptina. I had to blow it up very large for the cad program to be able to create the cut path and then I shrunk it down to 9.5 x6" oval and cut it out. the problem is that the machine still recognizes the double line around the font and cut around each letter twice. any help would be appreciatted thanks
    Dan

I'm not familiar with that particular font, but did a Google search and came up with this - is that the correct font? the reason I ask is I don't see a double line around this particular font so wanted to double check.

After you created the tool path, did you delete the original design prior to exporting it as a DXF? If not, that might be the source of your double lines. (Did the oval around the sign cut double also, or just the letters?)

I get the double line from when I type it into the program and then if you go to veiw fill then click not to show it then gives you an outline of the text. Then if you create a tool path it gives you a double line because of the outline of the text. and yes that is the right font. here is the actual file if it would help to see it.
    thanks Dan
    Attached Files Attached Files

hello everyone i also am new to the industry i bought a torchmate 3 bolt together in april and have gone th rough 2 cutmaster 82,s (thermal dynamics) and hve nothing but problems with thie whole deal also a new avhc box am i snake bit r what . any help with cut speeds ,kirf width,or avhc setting would be greatly app. here are my current settings