584,837 active members*
5,784 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Please help with CNC design for tangential knife cutting.

Please help with CNC design for tangential knife cutting.

Hi,

I am new to DIY CNC insofar as I haven't built one yet. I have been hanging around the edges of these forums getting an education and feel that it's time to get doing.
    I have been basing my build ideas off the Solsylva belt drive table plans but also trawling through everything from Mechmate and Lumenlabs.

Everything I find assumes the use of rotary tools or laser/plasma. If blades are mentioned at all it's for vinyl with swivel mount blades. I would basically like to build a flatbed tangential knife cutter for use on cardboard and architectural chipboard. This is a cardboard material like gameboard backing which is used for modelling. I have seen it referred to as "beaver puke" if that helps
    The main use of this machine would be for architectural modelling although I would also like the option of putting a router on it. If the knife carrier were a dual mount with pen-plotter that wouldn't hurt either.

So lets say a standard 3 axis router build with an option to mount a tangential cutter assembly. And let us assume about a 30" x 40" cutting surface.

At this point, I know nothing. That being said, let the laundry list of my questions begin.

Would the force involved in dragging a knife through 3 ply (~ 3/16" ) or thicker chipboard require a stronger machine than one would need for a router ? (I have no idea at all what the forces involved are. All I know is that my fingers hurt like hell after a day with the Exacto knife).
    Would a belt drive do it or would there be excessive backlash ?
    Ditto gas pipe rails. Do I need more rigidity than the Solsylva machine ?