585,932 active members*
3,663 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    199

    IPS OD Turn Issue!!!

    Ok,

    So I know my tool offsets are set right because my haas tech set them during training a week or so ago. I haven't used it since. Although I just put in a 2" Diameter stock of Steel with a Rockwell hardness of 24. I want to turn this down to a Diameter of 1 1/4" with a .3" radius fillet. So I used IPS to generate the code that follws. However when I ran this code in settings graphics I get alarms. Here is the code that follows, the first alarm is generated at the G00 Z0.05, I changed this value to negative and even to Z-21.0 because I knew it wouldn't crasht here but I still get errors? What gives?

    Thanks


    Code:
    O00060 
    (OD TURN) 
    T101 
    G54 
    G50 S800 
    G96 S650 M03 
    G00 X2.08 
    G00 Z0.05 
    G71 P101 Q102 U0 W0 D0.025 F0.01 
    N101 G00 X1.25 
    G01 X1.25 Z-2.312 
    G02 X1.226 Z-2.3 R-0.012 
    N102 G01 X2.08 Z-2.3 
    G00 X2.08 Z0.05 
    M30
    Oh yeah I'm using a Haas TL-1
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by JWB_Machining View Post
    Ok,

    So I know my tool offsets are set right because my haas tech set them during training a week or so ago. I haven't used it since. Although I just put in a 2" Diameter stock of Steel with a Rockwell hardness of 24. I want to turn this down to a Diameter of 1 1/4" with a .3" radius fillet. So I used IPS to generate the code that follws. However when I ran this code in settings graphics I get alarms. Here is the code that follows, the first alarm is generated at the G00 Z0.05, I changed this value to negative and even to Z-21.0 because I knew it wouldn't crasht here but I still get errors? What gives?

    Thanks


    Code:
    O00060 
    (OD TURN) 
    T101 
    G54 
    G50 S800 
    G96 S650 M03 
    G00 X2.08 
    G00 Z0.05 
    G71 P101 Q102 U0 W0 D0.025 F0.01 
    N101 G00 X1.25 
    G01 X1.25 Z-2.312 
    G02 X1.226 Z-2.3 R-0.012 
    N102 G01 X2.08 Z-2.3 
    G00 X2.08 Z0.05 
    M30
    Oh yeah I'm using a Haas TL-1
    The code does not look like it has the .3 radius but other than that it should work. Did you set your work offsets?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    188

    OD turn

    Could you post the alarm you get it may help in finding your problem my 1st thought is that your problem is in your G71 and the control is reading ahead but with out the alarm thats just a guess

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    199
    Yeah I set my offset by going into work setup. I brought my tool up to just touching the face of my part and pressed Z face measure. But I still get that Z over travel error. Any other ideas on how I can turn this down?
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    41
    Hello,I don't know much about Haas TL-1 but try this below i know it's a 2 liner for the G71 and might not work on your machine but the rest should, you might have to change it back to a 1 liner for the G71. You need to have a home and safe index position in your program or it will index on the chuck! The G1 after the N101 line needs to have a feed rate as this will cause an alarm. Your G02 line was the wrong way see below. Hope this helps if not show drawing of what you are tring to do and we will take it from there...

    O00060
    (OD TURN)
    ***************
    GOG4OX6.Z2.T0000 (THIS BIT SHOULD BY YOUR HOME & INDEX POSITION)
    (NEED TO CHANGE TO SUIT YOUR MACHINE AND REMOVE *)
    ***************
    G50 S800
    T101
    G96 S650 M03
    X2.5Z.125 (RAPIDS TO START POSITION FROM SAFE INDEX)
    G71U.1R.01
    G71 P101 Q102 U0.01W0.003 F0.01
    N101 G00 X1.25
    G01Z-2.3F.002 (NEEDS TO HAVE A FEED RATE HERE)
    G02 X1.274 Z-2.312 R-0.012
    N102 G01 X2.08
    ***************
    GOG4OX6.Z2.T0000 (THIS BIT SHOULD BY YOUR HOME & INDEX POSITION)
    (NEED TO CHANGE TO SUIT YOUR MACHINE AND REMOVE *)
    ***************
    M01
    M30

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    199
    Chucker, Hey thanks for the help. If I run the program without Single Block in Settings Graphics I get the following errors:

    318 Z Over Travel

    611 G71/G72 Type I Alarm (This has to do with the type of roughing apparently)

    603 Non MOnotonous PQ Blocks in Z

    I really need to get this Piece Turned down before 5 so I can impress my boss. thanks.
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    199
    Thanks Gripper, I'll load that up right now and check it out.
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    199
    Gripper,

    No that unfortunately didn't work. It ave me the same Z over travel Error and oddly where you had it rapiding it gave a multiple codes error. Even after I added G00 in front of it and did some other things.

    What I am trying to do however is take steel stock of Rockwell hardness 24 with a Diameter of 2" and work it down to 1 1/4". The piece I have is 4 " long and has been faced on both sides. I need to turn it down to 1 1/4" for a length of 2 inches and then I need a fillet beyond the two turned down length. I don't want a huge radius on fillet, it's just to reduce stress concentrations.

    I was thinking of using setting of 600-800 RPM 0.015 in/rev and 600 fpm. Advice on this would also be great but I figured I'd just try n stay conservative. Thanks so much. Getting this done by the end of the day would be great.
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    41
    Hi, Have you set your datum to the face of the job ie Z0. that might be why Z over travel.
    the error 603 Non MOnotonous PQ Blocks in Z might be because the way you had it writen it could not reslove the arc. What you move in Z you move twice the amount in a 90 Degree move on the X

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    74
    Check if the X and Z sensor is clean, restart the machine, that´s solved my problem. Try set up in the offset screen Z-30.000 (if you work in inches) for T0101 and run it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    Quote Originally Posted by JWB_Machining View Post
    Code:
    O00060 
    (OD TURN) 
    T101 
    G54 
    G50 S800 
    G96 S650 M03 
    G00 X2.08 
    G00 Z0.05 
    G71 P101 Q102 U0 W0 D0.025 F0.01 
    N101 G00 X1.25 
    G01 X1.25 Z-2.312 
    G02 X1.226 Z-2.3 R-0.012 
    N102 G01 X2.08 Z-2.3 
    G00 X2.08 Z0.05 
    M30
    Oh yeah I'm using a Haas TL-1

    Regarding your Z overtravel are you sure your offset went into the correct tool number? The TLs have what I think is a glitch, the cursor will not always go to the correct tool on the Offsets page; you must push reset or move it yourself.

    I think your non-monotonous comes from here where you move to Z-2.13 then try to move back to Z-2.3

    G01 X1.25 Z-2.312
    G02 X1.226 Z-2.3 R-0.012

    If it is not too late to impress the man put up a drawing (pdf file please) of what you want it to look like and I could do a sample program.

    Incidentally lose IPS, I think it is not worth learning if you want to eventually become fully proficient on the machine. I have my own template programs in which I just change coordinates. Turning something down with an end radius and a fillet radius is about a minutes work entering the new coordinate values and Z offset then push the Green Button.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    199
    Hey, I attached a drawing, i had to make it paint so it's not to scale or anything, don't ask. I just need the code for the part that is turned down to 1 1/4. And the Chamfer at the top isn't really important but it'd be nice.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Clevis.bmp  
    -JWB
    --We Ain't Building Pianos (TCNJ Baja 2008)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    Bit maps I can handle.

    The following code does not use Tool Compensation so I have included the tool nose radius using 0.015 which makes the radius 0.315, the Z at the start of the radius less negative and the X at the finish of the radius larger. I also put chamfers at both sharp corners and these are more or less freehand.

    Make the start position ahead of the G71 Z0.1 as I suggested previously.


    G00 X2.08 Z0.1
    G71 N101 Q106 etc
    N101 G00 X1.20 Z0.005
    N102 G01 X1.25 Z-0.145 F0.005
    N103 Z-1.885
    N104 G02 R0.315 X1.88 Z-2.20
    N105 G01 X1.95
    N106 X2.005 Z-2.205

    That should run.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Similar Threads

  1. mill/turn on a cin turn
    By Robert Timby in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 05:33 AM
  2. Which to Turn on First or Not
    By Mr.Chips in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 03:02 AM
  3. Cin Turn turn/mill
    By Robert Timby in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2007, 02:12 AM
  4. Help with selector switch wiring issue (***actually a motor issue***)
    By BEDFORD in forum Charter Oak Automation Support Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 09:19 PM
  5. THC Issue
    By Aldoseri in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2006, 11:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •