585,927 active members*
3,258 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Crash reishaw Probe on Super MiniMill using IPS

Unhappy Crash reishaw Probe on Super MiniMill using IPS

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie. I got a Super MiniMill with Renishaw probe about a month ago. The probe works great; I can't imagine working without it.

Yesterday, while using the Intuitive Programming System (IPS) to set my G55 work offset, I crashed the probe. I was using the “x-web” macro to set the x-coordinate, like I’ve done many times before. Both y & z values were undefined at this time. Normally, you position the probe in the center of the web, enter estimated width, press cycle start, and the tip of the probe taps the top of the work piece, and then goes left and right to probe the edges. But this time after I press cycle start, the probe dives itself straight down into the work piece, and shatters the tip of the probe. I had my finger on the feed hold button, so I was able to stop it pretty quick.

What’s up with that?
    Has anyone seen this happen before?
    Any ideas greatly appreciated.

I have a haas , and have seen this happen. Make sure you do a double rest ever time you run that probe or a program, so the control reset and clears itself.
    HAAS VF3-5 axis trunion
    Mastercam X3

I seem to remember reading somewhere (probably here) that the IPS Probing may have some bugs in it. I know that there have been a couple of versions of the VQC probing. My early version didn't allow you to select the pocket number for the probe. Some late versions lack some of the boss probing routines. I'd be willing to bet that something could be amiss in the IPS programming.

Are you sure that you were in G55 and not some other offset before it ran?
    Greg

Yes Greg, it was G55. I was setting up for my 2nd op.