585,760 active members*
3,788 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

3d scanner cad/cam programme

hi there,
    need some advise please, i am planning to buy the nextengine 3d scanner but need some advise on which cad/cam programme to use.
    I asked nextengine which software they advise for reverse engineering and they suggested radpiworks.
    has anyone any experience of it? can i use it as a stand alone cad programme e.g. use without the scanner?.
    the plan is take parts and both agricultural and automotive scan edit (eg add feature, eddit damaged area) in cad / cam and make on the Haas TM-1 i have on order. High detail rendering isnt a concern.
    any thoughts on a cam programme to complement rapidworks with post processors for my Haas?

or has anyone any other suggestions for cad/cam.

p.s budget is a concern as i am just starting out and the full solid works isnt an option.!

Many thanks Paul H

I'am also looking for an answer.
    we just looked at the roland 3d scanner, but I think we will be buying a nextengine machine. We tried to use inventor to read the 3d data, it did not work. I think solidworks is the best way to go. We also just bought a Haas TM1 plus a TL1
    Thanks

I just bought a Nextengine scanner and one of the issues could be the size of the parts you want to scan. It can do a good job on cell phone size stuff but the software still seems to have issues when things get bigger than a cereal box. The support staff is great but I've been talking to them quite a bit since I bought my scanner a month ago.