585,589 active members*
2,849 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

bevel on 1.75 dia holes

Hi
    I'm new to cnc plasma cutting, I received my new table a few months ago and have been just playing with different materials and thickneses. I have a real job now to cut, it's a bunch of .75 and 1.75 diameter holes in .375 hot roll plate. I'm getting about .025 to .035 of bevel from the top of the hole to the bottom, I don't know if this is as good as it gets or if I should be able to get better results with different settings. I have tried different THC settings,amps,cut direction, and cut speeds and can't seem to get it any better. My final settings using a Hypertherm 1250 are 137V THC, 80Amp,50 IPM. I would really appreciate any info on whether this is normal or suggestions on how to get it a little better.

Thanks for your time

Chris

Here are some rules of thumb to minimize hole taper:
    - Holes are always cut counter clockwise (unless you have a special counterclockwise gas swirl in your torch!) with plasma.....as the process is directional. If the torch is moving away from you...the squarer edge will be to the right side of the torch.
    -Program the cut speed on your holes at approx 50 to 60% of your best speeds for perimeter cutting....(if your cutting machine and software allows for feedrate overides in the part program machine codes) this slower speed will produce low speed dross on the bottom edge of the holes....but will minimize taper.
    -If you are slowing the cut speed on holes as mentioned above....it will also be necessary to freeze the torch height, (if you don't...the arc voltage THC will move the torch too close to the plate when the cut speed gets too slow)....after the pierce is complete and the thc has indexed the torch down to the manufacturers recomended cut height. With the Powermax1250...the torch should pierce at 3/32" and cut at 1/16" off the plate.