586,005 active members*
5,321 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > Waterjet General Topics > Magnet or Suction for loading/unloading ideas?

Magnet or Suction for loading/unloading ideas?

I work in a shop with a 8' X 20' Plasma table. Currently I load the plates with a bigger sized forklift with 6' forks. It becomes extremely difficult to load thinner plates (1/8" - 1'4") that are 20' in length as they bow, sometimes needing 2 forklifts to load. Also when cutting thicker plates it is difficult to muscle them onto the forks one by one when taking off the table. Our building structure can not support a crane so as of now I think forklift is our only option?

We want to put a guard rail up in front of the table so forklifts cannot run into the the rail, but in doing so it will make it even more difficult to get plates on and off the table.

Does anyone do something different or know of any ideas as for remote magnets or suction cups for a forklift to lift the plates on and off the table?

I worked at a mold shop many years ago and they had magnets to load VERY heavy parts onto the mills and such. I remember being so nervous the first time I had to do it, but quickly gained confidence. At first, I couldn't believe the magnet would hold the part, I though for sure they were crazy.
    And build a gantry that slides onto your towmotor forks and exends 5' past the tip of the fork with a hook for chains or straps to attach to hoist magnets. They will pay for themselves as soon as someone doesn't get hurt trying to muscle around a 600lb plate of material.
    My material supplier uses a clamp that is basically bolted to the center edge of the plate and they just lay it on it's edge and tip it down to load 4' X 10' plates up to 1/2" thick on thier sheer. Problem with that is it leaves marks in the material.
    Magnetic Hoist's: http://www.mcmaster.com/#catalog/114/1444