584,858 active members*
4,947 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Fanuc 10 Position scaling-calibration

Angry Fanuc 10 Position scaling-calibration

Hi all,
    Through an untimely event of ignorance I managed to clear the parameter memory on my Fanuc 10 CNC controller (see other posts).

So we are on the road to re-establishing the parameters but have hit a snag on calibrating the positioning of the 3 axis so that for example 1.000" desired movement is physically achieved.

Can anyone help me to understand the Fanuc method to scaling the positioning? I have an EE degree and many years of experience in digital logic design and machine automation, so I would like a very technical explanation.

Here is what I know (or think I know) the servo motors (DC brush) have a 2000M in their part number which I have been told is the encoder PPR. The x-axis ball screw appears to have a 5mm pitch (I can manually turn and measure this to be certain).

So how does the DMR, CMR and counter maximum value all relate? I understand that we are trying to achieve at least two things: 1- calibration, while 2- maximize resolution and thus ultimately accuracy.

Thanks for any response, this is my last ditch effort to deal with the Fanuc, otherwise it will be ripped out and replaced with a PC (really I am not bitter).

Mike

I have the Tech notes on this in PDF they exceed the limit here so if you want to send me an email ad by PM.
    I can send a copy.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.