585,737 active members*
4,773 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > G71 rough boring - remove final profile pass

Red face G71 rough boring - remove final profile pass

hi, i am totally new to this and i am trying to help a friend who is programming a cnc lathe. the machine is a puma and the control is a fanuc although not sure which series.

our problem is the machine runs the first part of the G71 roughing cycle fine with good swarf control, but the G71 cycle has a final finish profile and the depth of cut is too small to control the swarf and it wraps around the tool.

we are running at big depths of cut and high feed with roughing inserts to remove stock, and an insert with finishing geometry isnt strong enough to cope

can we increase the depth of cut for the final profile, or better still remove it completely as there is a finishing tool with finish profile chip breaker that goes in afterwards anyway

we were hoping to run the machine unmanned but the swarf gets in the way

can anyone help please

apologies for any mistakes as i am totally new to this forum and programming.

thanks very much

To my knowledge you cannot remove the final profile but by changin your D value you can make it the same depth of cut as all the other passes.

For instance if your start diameter is 2.200 and the finish is 1.780 you are taking off 0.42 on the diameter or 0.21 on the radius. If your D is 0.05 you take four cuts at this depth then a final pass at 0.01 depth of cut; if you change the D to 0.051 you take only four cuts all the same depth of cut.

If you have a finish allowance with a U value (I think it is U) it is necessary to take this into account in the amount taken off on the radius.

This works on Haas machines running in Fanuc mode so I think it should work for you.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.