585,977 active members*
4,655 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Milling circles/ holddowns?

I'm anewbie here and just curious what you guys are using for hold downs on your metal mills.
    On my wood router, it's not much of a question, because i can either use contact cemet, fasten it to the spool board or use a vacuum clamp.

I have ane wcnc master's jr that i'm ready to fire up andhave already run into a few obstacles that i didn't think about.
    Like i said I'm a newbie here, so be nice.

My main question concerns holding down a circle that's being completely cut from a piece of stock. I know , I can edit the g code and pause it part of the way around it, then reset and restart, but i was wondering if there is a way to do it without, changing the hold downs or pausing the software.
    Thanks in Advance all help appreciated!
    mark

Quote Originally Posted by m8kingit View Post
    I can edit the g code and pause it part of the way around it
    mark
    You will leave a "dimple" in the part if you do that.

I guess I don't understand the problem, why can't you use toe clamps?

littlerob, if he toe clamps, he can't cut the circle all the way around, and will have to pause to reset the clamps and will encounter the problem you suggest.

If the circle really has no internal features that allow clamping (often a small feature is enough to allow bolting down), and you want to cut the whole circumference in one shot there are a couple of approaches.

First, you can cement the part down just as you do with you router provided the cutting forces aren't going to knock it loose.