585,914 active members*
3,689 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Best Cnc for small 6061 alum. part.

Best Cnc for small 6061 alum. part.

Hey everyone,
    I'm new at cnc and need help finding the best machine for job at hand. I will be milling 1 part made of 6061 about 3" x 4". The machine will need to be able to run at least 8 hrs. a day continuous except to change out part. From all those that I have spoke with lead me to the Tormach or Industrial Hobbies.
    Which both seem to be very reputable. I've recently been turned on to the enclosed 2008 cnc machining center Mikini 1610L. All these machines are in my price range & I really like the enclosed part of the Mikini. Anyone with Mikini info besides Mikini reps.Truthfully I was sold on Ind. Hob. until now. Any advice will be appreciated. Also, if anyone has other machines in mind in this price range all options are still open. Would really like auto tool change but have not found in my price range.
    Thanks,
    Duane

Hi duaneblk

I not sure what you are looking for or at but the Mikini is night & day different from the other 2

The machines that you have picked out the best of the 3 is the Mikini by the spec that is on there site next would be the Tormach & then the Ind. Hob.
    Mactec54

There's not many (if any) machines with toolchangers for ~$10K (I'm guessing that's your budget), but if you think you're going to need a tool changer now, get it. It may take a while for it to pay for itself, but it will, and when you need it, it will be worth it.

The tool changer will let the machine run truly unattended (freeing you up to make money elsewhere), prevent operator fatigue (6 tools per part x 1000 parts gets tiring pretty fast), and prevent operator error (try hitting "cycle start" with a (long) drill in the spindle when the controller expects a (short) end mill - crash city).

Chris Kirchen

First of all, whats your price range?