584,837 active members*
5,372 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Milltronics > Centurion V won't boot up

Centurion V won't boot up

Hello,

I'm new to cnc and just bought a Supermax mill with a Centurion control.
    I had the machine running a simple program one evening and everything seemed fine, shut it down and went to restart it the next morning and it would not boot up right. It comes to a screen that says:

Centurion V system shell version 1.12
    copyright 1991
    sram (B freespace = -1

*A:\>

When I hit F1 and then check the sram I get a message that says
    "General failure error reading drive B"

I found the battery on the board and checked it with a voltmeter and found it to have 4.6 volts, looks like it might have been replaced.

If anyone can help me with this I would greatly appreciate it!
    Thanks, DEAN-O

Same boat as you. I've got the shop machine turned on, in hopes that there is another battery that will take a charge somewhere.
    Exact same messages.
    IIRC the last time I ran into start-up issues, I reloaded the saved parameters off the disk, and it fixed things up.

Gotta brush up on my DOS commands again.

Yours been turned off for a while? Ours was powered down over Christmas, about 10 days,more or less.

Ugh!

Cheers
    Trev

The SRAM Freespace = -1 alarm can be caused by several things:
    1.) Simdisk battery dead. The battery should measure 3.6VC, if not replace the battery.
    2.) One or more of the capacitors on the simdisk have failed and/or leaked. Repair of the simdisk would be required.
    3.) Simdisk board is defective. Replacement of the simdisk is then required.

I hope some of this helps you.

Thanks!

I'll start with a meter, and pull the board to have a look to see what can be seen.

A quick check of the battery shows a little crusty corosion n one of the leads, so maybe worth a deeper look.

Cheers
    Trev