585,969 active members*
4,567 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Repair or replacement of SEM servo motor

I bought a series 1,R2C3, H 145 off Ebay in "working" condition. After I got it home and fought it for a week I figured out one of the magnets in the X axis servo motor was broken into a few pieces. The motor type is 30H4-44. I did some looking and did not see any used motors. Is this a rare part? What are my options? I plan on calling the seller in the morning and see if he's willing to help or if he has suddenly left town. When I picked it up he promised me a refund if something was wrong with the machine. I'm just a garage machinist so loading it back on my trailer bring it back to him is not a trivial task.

I'd appreciate some suggestions if you have any, for now I think I'll take the dog for a walk.
    Thanks,Brad

re

I looked into having one repaired for the same machine a few years back and it was in the vicinity of 700 bucks. I waited a bit and found one on ebay for a few hundred.

Keep an eye out

Thanks Gus, I guess that's what I'll do.

In the mean time I wonder how well it would work if I removed the broken pieces one the magnet. It might be good enough for the Z axis. Will see.
    Brad

I was able to reassemble the servo motor with part of the one magnet missing. It seems to work fine but I would not be surprised that sometime in the future it comes back to bite me. In the mean time maybe a good used one will turn up. I took a closer look at the outside of the motor and right at the spot were the magnet was broken I could marks presumably from a hammer. I believe the hammer method worked well on the starter in the old Buick, on the Bridgeport not so much. Turns out the same "hammer method" was used on the Z servo motor as well. I took that one apart and found one complete magnet had come loose. I reglued it with some JB weld. Thankfully the Y motor was spared any beatings.