586,000 active members*
5,107 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Fadal CNC88 vs CNC88-HS

Fadal CNC88 vs CNC88-HS

Hello all,
    I have some experience running a VMC 15 with CNC88-HS controller. I'm in the market to buy my first Fadal (or any CNC for that matter). One machine i've looked at has a CNC-88 controller. Scanning through this controller it seems very different from the HS version. From loading programs to setting offsets - i couldn't even find the graphics screen to draw the tool paths. My question is: Is the 88-HS a far superior controller or is it just a matter of my getting past a learning curve? Would it be expensive to convert a CNC88 to a CNC88-HS? Any input at all would help. Thank you.

Robert

Robert--
    The CNC 88 is the original control version and had a processor of only 25 BPS where as the CNC 88HS controller started at 72 BPS and is now at 250 PBS processing speed.
    The system in the machine you are looking at may have been updated. Look at the card 1400 in slot #5 in the card cage in the rear of the machine. If it is a 1400-0 0r 1400-1 the you have the 25 and if it is 1400-2 then you have the 72. anything 1400-4 and beyond will be 150.

Hope that helps.

Neal

Robert,