585,763 active members*
4,282 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mill / Drill Table "Twisting"...?

Mill / Drill Table "Twisting"...?

Hi Guys,

This is my first post and I'd like to start by saying hi... and thanks for having me in...

I've come seeking assistance with a problem that I'm having with my BusyBee CT129N Mill / Drill... I'll do my best to explain the issue but seeing as I'm somewhat new to owing this type of machine, please don't hesitate to ask me to try and do a better job explaining what I mean, as I'm not certain how well I will be able to explain what the problem is...

The best way I can describe what I think is happening is that the table on the mill is "twisting" as it moves through its range of travel, and here's my reason for thinking so...

I have a Starret 6" machinists level which is graduated in .005" / foot increments. With the table positioned all the way to the right on the X axis (longitudinal axis), I place the machinists level on the far right hand end of the table oriented on the Y axis (vertical axis, across the T slots, perpendicular to the T slots) and it indicates level. As I run the table to the left the level begins to indicate that the front edge of the table is "rising". This "rise" begins at approximately 1.5" before the center of the table (at the 1.5" graduation on the strip on the front edge of the table, the 1.5" graduation on the left hand side of the "0" mark). Between the 1.5" graduation on the left hand side of the "0" and the 1.5" graduation on the right hand side of the "0" the level moves almost 3 graduations (approximately .013" / foot) and then remains there until the table reaches the far left stop. So the difference in the level reading (with the level sitting on the right hand end of the table) between the far right and far left hand stops on the table is almost .013" / foot. My feeling is that this isn't a good thing.