585,722 active members*
4,567 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question how to get into teching machine trades

Hey everyone,
    I am a student at Vincennes University majoring in Injection Molding and CNC Programming, and when I get out of school I want to teach. The reason I want to teach is because I would get to work with kids, help problem solve, and I think I could help them get into something they will enjoy like I did. If any teachers out there have and advice on what I would need to do to get involved in teaching please post your advice. Also if you want to post your story on how you ended up teaching I would like to hear it.

Quote Originally Posted by smallss View Post
    Hey everyone,
    I am a student at Vincennes University majoring in Injection Molding and CNC Programming, and when I get out of school I want to teach. The reason I want to teach is because I would get to work with kids, help problem solve, and I think I could help them get into something they will enjoy like I did. If any teachers out there have and advice on what I would need to do to get involved in teaching please post your advice. Also if you want to post your story on how you ended up teaching I would like to hear it.
    My teacher back in tech school was a M.E. and served as a tool engineer at Kennametal for 15 years before he had is paycheck cut into 1/3 and took the job as the CNC instructor of our local technical collage. Good luck,
    MC

Teachers initillay starve with low pay and less respect.

NOw with budgets being cut evrywhere, you can plan on anthing but reding, writing and aritmetic being cut form the teaching dias.

Youre goals are admirable. Even the industrial side is gonna be tight with regard to traiing budgets.

I"d try to get on with a CNC outfit ad they do offer training as part of their sales packages. You might get lucky and not have to travel all over heck to do your thing.