585,722 active members*
4,099 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Google Sketchup and Alibre?

Hey There!

Newbie here. I am building a CNC machine to carve out an archtop guitar. 1948 D'Angelico New Yorker.

Here's the problem...

1) I scanned the blueprints and had them converted into huge PDF files.
    2) Downloaded a free PDF to JPG converter program.
    3) Pulled the JPG blueprint file into ProgeCAD and created topo splines.
    4) Exported from ProgeCAD to DXF file. (Guitar1)
    5) Imported the DXF splines into Google SketchUP
    6) Used SketchUP "Sandbox" to create the surface you see below.
    7) Beautiful surface. (Guitar2) Now what the heck do I do???

I am trying to pull the file into Alibre 3D CAD. Problem is it pulls the splines into a drawing and the 3D isn't active.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Guitar1.JPG   Guitar2.jpg  

As far as I have tested you can not Import 3D Line Geometry into an Alibre Drawing to transfer into an Alibre Part File.

If you could make it a Solid Model You can Import, Iges, Step, 3dm and DWG.

Try posting this in the Alibre Forum under Using Alibre Design.

I really don't know if this can be done, but it might.

Ask these guys and good luck

http://alibre.com/forums/
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

www.refractotech.com

Surface files

You will need a surface file. Usually comes with *.3dm extension. The topo splines will not help you in a 2D dxf drawing.

topo splines