584,874 active members*
5,473 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Starting Brisbane CNC user group

Hi folks,

There are several of us in Brisbane and surrounding areas, and especially after seeing the success of the Melbourne user community last weekend, several of us are interested in forming a user group or club, for mutual support, help, ideas, use of machines, obtaining paid work for our machines, etc.

Firstly, this is just a proposal for comment, not "how it's gonna be". My intentions here are just to sound out the Brisbane community, to see if there's enough interest in forming such a club, or even just meeting up to exchange contact info. I'm willing to host the first such meetup (but have no space for machines larger than a laptop or printer to be brought).

So far the following members of this site have specifically expressed interest: myself (dgreensill), wjfiles, ClaudioG, ggrover. Personally I'm a newbie to this stuff but in the course of learning about CNC I've made a few contacts in the local industry, so I mean to invite many of them to join the group as well. While the group would be primarily for hobbyist and small business users, I think it would be both useful and courteous to extend the invitation to any manufacturers (either in the CNC industry, or users of CNC technology) who happen to be interested, whether they are owners or employees of companies that own machines, so long as they are keen to promote the personal ownership and use of CNC technology. Also, artists, artisans, woodworkers, metalworkers, engineers etc: people who could make use of CNC technology, even if they don't personally own it - these are the people who will extend the boundaries of what we do.