585,930 active members*
3,869 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    OM-D decimal place limits

    My software is putting out cordinates with 5 place decimals, will the control handle this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    I believe it will... seem to remember an old post doing that, and it still ran. What software are you using? Is it not configurable?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    371
    I think it will take 4 decimals in inch and 3 in metric system.

    Greg.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41
    I changed the software to put out 4 places and it seemed to work fine, but then the machine froze about half way through a 3D drip feed program. No alarms and the control was not responsive, I couldn't switch screens or get any response unless I hit reset. I'm using Bobcad 17

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    The number of decimal digits is an issue only in direct assignment. Fanuc Macro B accepts only 8 digits. For example
    #1 = 1.23456789 would alarm out (TOO MANY DIGITS)
    but
    #1 = 1.2345678 would be OK.
    If the least input increment is, say, 0.001, rounding to three places after decimal would be automatically done. For example
    G21;
    G91 G01 X#1 F_;
    would cause a movement of 1.235 mm.

    When the assigned value is through a calculation (the result of which has more than 8 digits), there is nothing to worry. Rounding to 8 digits would be done automatically:
    #1 = 2;
    #2 = 3;
    #3 = #1 / #2
    This would store a value of 0.6666667 in #3.
    Note that #3 - 0.6666667 would not return exactly zero, because an error of 0.00000001 is typically associated with all macro calculations.

Similar Threads

  1. Mastercam X, force 4 decimal place output
    By critz in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2020, 06:41 PM
  2. Forcing a decimal point from a pci
    By inflateable in forum EdgeCam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2008, 02:58 PM
  3. putting in decimal places.
    By G00 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2008, 08:27 PM
  4. decimal point
    By stevieboy in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 12:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •