585,894 active members*
5,252 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Uncategorised CAD Discussion > deciding which CAD software to purchase

deciding which CAD software to purchase

im currently running on trial versions of autocad 2009 and solidworks 2009, autocad 2008 i used before, and i was becoming rather efficient with that trial, and with the 2009 release they changed the entire interface..

ive been using solidworks the last few days, and it doesnt seem as powerful a tool as autocad.. so im thinking of passing up on solidworks.. does anyone know of any other high end CAD software i should give a try for designing? or is autocad 2009 worth getting used to the new interface?

im a luthier and im upgrading my business to produce my own line of guitars...

You decision will mostly be affected by your needs in a CAD program and how much experience you have in each one.

If you like AutoCAD a lot then you should use it, but if you want to make 3D models, it would be a much better choice to use another program, like SolidWorks. You can make 3D models in AutoCAD but it’s a lot harder and confusing, in my opinion. If you used AutoCAD it would be more like computerized drafting, as in having to draw every detail and view manually. AutoCAD 2010 just came out recently, and it works a lot better with 3D Don’t get me wrong, I really like AutoCAD and I use it often, but how useful it is really depends on what you’re trying to do with it.

By the way, if you don't like the new 2009 interface you can switch back to the old style easily: in the bottom right corner of the AutoCAD window there are a bunch of icons. There’s one for switching workspaces, its icon is just a gear. Click on it and choose “AutoCAD Classic” in the pop-up menu and then you’ll have you familiar menus and toolbars back.