585,875 active members*
4,084 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

taig vs town labs new TL518

A newbie here and doing my research to select my first CNC mill.

I am working from the premiss that it is best to invest in the 'most' mill I can afford (about 3k) for my little home shop. I need a bench top setup and had pretty much decided to go with one of the Taig models. I have friends that have and like their sherlines but they all seem to think that the taig will be a bit more rugged and stiffer and I may want to try a few smaller steel parts.

I had planned to go either with the microproto or the gecko setup offered by DeepGrove1

All that said I ran across this mill from Town Labs called the TL518

http://cgi.ebay.com/4-Axis-CNC-Mill-...ht_3671wt_1167

http://www.townlabs.com/TL518main.html

I sounds good, a true servo setup, quite a bit heavier etc, decent price.
    I looks a bit weaker to me than the Taig especially in the Z support area.

Anyone have some advice. The Taig seems much more common and for a beginner that might be even more important than mill rigidity?

Thanks in Advance

Now, to be fair I am a Taig Dealer let me state that up front.

Wow I hadn't seen the Town Labs 'mill' before. To me is looks suspiciously like an import XY table for a drill press that somebody tried to make a mill from. They also listed no real specifications like backlash, precision, repeatability etc. In all honesty it looks a little rinky-dink to me.

There is a good choice of bench top mills available today. Taig, Sherline, and several flavors of converted Chinese imports. It is my opinion that in this size category the Taig is hard to beat (but it won't win any beauty contests). If you really need a larger mill, that is if you need a larger working envelope then your really back to only picking a favor of converted import machines.