585,880 active members*
7,904 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Need help with tool length offset
Page 1 of 2 12

Need help with tool length offset

I am having a little trouble figuring out the routine for setting tool length offset on the new Haas mill. I am new to haas but not machining, TLO on my other two mills is a simple single button setup from the jog page, touch the top of the block(of known height) with the tool , push the tool set button and its done .

I have followed the HAAS manual to a T (I Think) but I am guessing there is something simple I am missing or have screwed up. Here is the procedure I am following as best I understand it from the manual, page 58.

g54 z value is 0

load tool in the spindle

enter jog mode

jog tool down towards tool setter (gauge block in my case)

touch off on block

press ofset

page up until I am on geometry for the tool in the spindle

press tool ofset measure

press next tool

load next tool in spindle

touch off repeat etc .

All seems well and it loads the machine z position -**.*** shown into the tool table , the problem I am having is none of the tools are set at the correct offset .
    When load the individual tools thru M06 T** and go back and check them for refrence against the gauge block none of them are set at the same place.
    One of them , always the 1/2 endmill , no matter what T number is assigned to it , is always exactly at the top of the tool block but all the rest are at different hieghts.

They range from being almost an inch above the block to -1.2" (1.2" Below the top of the block)

I am sure I am just missing something simple here , the process seems simple enough once I figure out what I am doing wrong .

Quote Originally Posted by panaceabea View Post