585,992 active members*
5,178 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > HSM Toolpath taking hours to generate when using light depth of cut - help!

HSM Toolpath taking hours to generate when using light depth of cut - help!

Hi, I am relatively new to Mastercam and was hoping you can help. I am using Mastercam's High Speed Machining Area Clearance Roughing toolpath to clear out a large angled surface. The tool I am trying to use is a 3" indexable carbide facemill (the tool is capable of ramping). I just got the tool, but from my initial experimentation with it, I can only run it at a depth of cut of 0.006". Much more and either the spindle stalls or it breaks an insert.

My problem is, that when I set the Z stepover value to 0.006", Mastercam takes an extremely long time to calculate the toolpath, since it is calculating a million little passes. I haven't yet gotten it to calculate completely as after the 45 minute mark, I've gotten disgusted every time and restarted the program.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I be using a different toolpath for roughing with high feed / light depth of cut tools?

Thanks for your help.

Is your problem on the plunge that you can only take .006 depth cut? is this a blind pocket to rough out or can you use the side of the cutter to lead in to a cut? if so try surface rough pocket. it is hard to tell with out looking at the part.
    steve
    www.cad2cam.net
    www.cad2cam.net
    Programmer/ Certified Cam Instructor

there are hardware concerns to consider here. master cam is very powerful, and it munches computer resources to accommodate. if you're trying to create a tool path like this that's going inches deep in .006 steps that is one hell of a lot of math, and if your pc isn't up to snuff it can take hours to calculate. i think steve might be on to something. is this really the best strategy?