585,978 active members*
4,333 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Judging a stepper by its mH (Phase Inductance)

Question Judging a stepper by its mH (Phase Inductance)

Hi.

I am studying a few steppers motors and was wondering what the characteristics of each motor will be... Both are Nema 23,look the same and has the same weight.

In the left corner we have a motor rated at 6.3V , 3A , 2.1OHM , 9mH...

..and in the right corner a 4.2V , 4.2A , 1.0 OHM , 2.3mh stepper.

If you could tell, what kind of boxers... I mean Stepper will they be?

I am mainly concerned about the first steppers 9mH... Is that good or bad?

All info would be much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Degrom View Post
    Hi.

I am studying a few steppers motors and was wondering what the characteristics of each motor will be... Both are Nema 23,look the same and has the same weight.

In the left corner we have a motor rated at 6.3V , 3A , 2.1OHM , 9mH...

..and in the right corner a 4.2V , 4.2A , 1.0 OHM , 2.3mh stepper.

If you could tell, what kind of boxers... I mean Stepper will they be?

I am mainly concerned about the first steppers 9mH... Is that good or bad?

All info would be much appreciated.
    Hi Degrom.

The first motor will need 96V to perform at its best. That much inductance makes me wonder if it is wired in Bipolar Series. If So, then it will not run very fast before it stalls.

The second motor will run best at 48V. If it has 4 or 8 wires then it is wired in Bipolar Parallel, and that is what we usually want. 4.2A is too high for the 3.5A G540, but this motor would run well with a full sized Gecko.

What drivers will you be using with these motors? What kind of CNC equipment do you want to run with them? How many wires do each of the motors have?

CR.

The first has 4 wires and the second has 8 wires...

I am planning on using Gecko's and it will be for a CNC plasma cutter.