584,862 active members*
5,415 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Hello, I is Dumb as a Rock...

Hello, I is Dumb as a Rock...

Hello, I have been lurkin for quite a while. I am a welder/machinist, old school, can make anything by hand. I think a Rock may be a bit smarter when it comes to electronics. When it works it works good, but when its broke, it's all over but the cryin. If I can't fix it, I don't want it. Having chased problems with vehicles, I ripped out all the puter stuff and went back to a carburetor. Less efficient, but if its dead on the side of the road, it is probably fixable.
    I service all of my own machines not an issue, but when I see a printed circuit board, its all over. Old machines had big relays, coils etc and have been for the most part been replaced by printed circuit boards.
    Taking some classes is cost prohibitive and I think I would be ahead of the game just to dive in with a not so simple project. I have soldering and de soldering equipment and do very well at it. I have a Simpsons VOM and some other simple test equipment. I have a lazer printer to make circuit boards and it looks simple enough. A few years ago I bought a book on buildin your own CNC robot by Geoff Williams. It was a good read, though I think he left one in the dark a bit.
    I haven't a clue what all the little diodes and resistors do. Couldn't tell ya what a moffset was or how the little micro controllers work. Electronics for Dummies is what I need.
    I would like to know if his board system is any good for say larger motors. Are there better processors, etc. Do I need an ociliscope for any of this kind of work. I canabalize everything, got lots of puters torn appart, VCR's, printers etc.
    I guess I am like the kid that sez why?, why do you need this, why is this this way, what does it do and why? Then how do you figure out what parts to use and its values.