584,854 active members*
4,245 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > PCB milling > Interested in testing pcb milling software?
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 39
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20

    Interested in testing pcb milling software?

    I've written a program to be used instead of pcb-gcode.

    I've tested it on Mach3 (Inactive mode) but I have not run the resulting gcode on a real machine yet.

    I just received my WidgitMaster (Great Machine!!) but I'm about 4 weeks from getting everything completed so I can test it fully myself.

    I'm looking for someone that is interest in the added capabilities (over pcb-gcode) to test it and provide feed back.

    It run in two stages. Stage one as a ULP on Eagle to acquire raw data.

    Stage two is a Windows program that processes the data and produces the gcode.

    There are two big differences in this program and pcb-gcode.

    #1 - you can use up to three different mill bits to do the routing. Use a Big bit to do most of the work and the smaller ones for cleaning up the tight places.

    I download a test board from the Internet and operated on it with two bits. Bit one was .015 with an isolation width of .03 and the second pass using a .005 bit giving a isolation layer of .02. Most of the work with the .005 bit will be air since the .015 did most of the work. The bottom side results are depicted below. Up to three different tools can be specified.

    #2 - Optimize the routing path to minimize the number of tool moves. The first example below is the tool path obtained using pcb-gcode. The other one is optimized.

    I got the cart in front of the horse on this one .... getting my software developed prior to having a machine to test it on.

    If you are interested in testing and providing me feed back - please let me know.

    The actual board is 4.0 x 2.0 inches. The pics below are shots from the program and are enlarged for viewing.




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1778
    The disadvantage of your program is that it won't run on a Mac or Linux, while pcb_gcode will run on both of them plus windows. There is also an optimizer for pcb_gcode.

    Alan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    33
    I would like to test it hinksj

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    I decided to start doing my own PCB work without having to make the boards commercially.

    I did a lot of reviewing on this site and others about pcb-gcode.

    I found people asking about using multiple size bits to preserve the smaller endmill bits and let heaver bits do all the work.

    I also looked at the optimization additions to pcb-gcode and thought I could do better.

    Since I create software for a living, I decide to create a tool that fit my wants and needs.

    I am making it available to any of you that wish to use it.

    I feel it provide more flexibility and control over the pcb-gcode options available (there is only so much Eagle lets you do in a ULP program).

    I have received a lot from this site and others. --- This is my attempt to give something back.

    I wrote a brief tutorial --- you can view it at:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GCode.htm

    If you would like the package ---- This link will download it for you:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GcodePackage.exe

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    361
    does your software have some sort of 'intelligence, where ,say if you started with the largest bit size, that it would know where material was already removed, and save time by not having to 'remill' already removed excess material..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    It starts with what YOU specify as tool 1.

    I would make this the largest bit.

    Once tool 1 has completed its assign task, Tool 2 is loaded.

    For me, this is a .005 endmill.

    No, I do not look to see what has already been cut.

    It does not take that much time to run the process using tool 2.

    These tools have a limited life measured in feet of milling.

    My .005 endmill cost $35.

    I want to extend the life on it so ... yes it may pass over already cut areas of the PCB, but there are areas that were too small for the larger tool 1 to mill, so tool 2 will now mill them.

    This strategy will greatly extend the number of PCBs that can be milled given the tools used.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Can't get past first base.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    In the past, Microsoft allowed developers to package their runtime libraries in with their EXE files.

    Since Visual Studio 2005 came out - you have to distribute and install them separately.

    I forgot to include Microsoft's redistribution package.

    Please download the package again - it is now included.

    Run vcredist_x86.exe before attempting to execute Eagle2Gcode.exe.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    ULP location is not working.


    The concept of using something like a 0.005" endmill for PCB isolation is quite foreign to me. $35

    I, like everyone else I know, use a purpose made vee bit to do isolation milling. They last for ages. Very economical.

    http://drewtronics.net/spademill.html


    Greg

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    I've update the package to address the issue.

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Looks like it has a way to go yet.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Error1.jpg   Error2.jpg  

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    No - that was my mistake.

    I am working on have it create the gcode for milling SMD solder mask pads.

    That was work in progress that still has issue.

    I placed the wrong EXE in the package.

    The package has been updated.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    361
    d/l... from the link..again
    first time showed hinklegcode.h not found, same second time..??
    the .exe doesn't run for me, much less any error messages..
    running ulp from within eagle gives missing .h file error..
    eagle version 4.15

    thanks

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Drill congfig settings won't stick resulting in error.

    Set sizes and click OK.

    Go back to drill config and all settings are back to zero.

    EDIT: If you are going to keep uploading a new exe then put it separate to the vcredist_x86.exe.

    I do not want to keep downloading the whole package when it is not needed.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Drill Config.jpg   ERROR 3.jpg  

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    Thanks - that was a bug.

    If you only config the drills once (like I did) - no issue.

    I have added a Version Number at the lower right corner of the display.


    View Documentation:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GCode.htm

    If you would like the Full package - Include Microsoft's Run Time Lib:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GcodePackage.exe

    Just the latest Software - Version 1.A ... Now displayed in lower right corner.

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2Gcode.exe

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Those two downloads are the same size. Are you sure you got them right?

    OK next error.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ERROR 5.jpg  

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    The Package is 7 Meg and the program alone is 1.5 Meg.

    I never tested only one tool.

    Thanks for the bug catch.

    View Documentation:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GCode.htm

    If you would like the Full package - Include Microsoft's Run Time Lib:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GcodePackage.exe

    Just the latest Software - Version 1.B ... Now displayed in lower right corner.

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2Gcode.exe

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Quote Originally Posted by hinksj View Post
    The Package is 7 Meg and the program alone is 1.5 Meg.
    Both your links still point to the package

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    20
    Right again.

    There are two parts to the formation of the link.

    I copy/pasted but only changed one part.

    These links should be fine now.


    View Documentation:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GCode.htm

    If you would like the Full package - Include Microsoft's Run Time Lib:

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2GcodePackage.exe

    Just the latest Software - Version 1.B ... Now displayed in lower right corner.

    http://joehinkle.com/Eagle2Gcode/Eagle2Gcode.exe

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Quote Originally Posted by hinksj View Post

    These links should be fine now.
    OK glad we got that one sorted.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 279
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 03:46 PM
  2. Newbie Testing/Trial Software Question
    By clevster in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2005, 06:13 PM
  3. software for testing drivers/controllers
    By posix in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 01:04 PM
  4. Interested? in milling a logo in aluminum for $$$?
    By midevilone in forum Employment Opportunity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 06:49 AM
  5. software for testing servos?
    By replicapro in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-21-2004, 09:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •