584,829 active members*
5,150 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design > Help My Part Survive Implosion! A Great Challenge- Calling Hydrostatic Engineers...
Page 1 of 2 12

Lightbulb Help My Part Survive Implosion! A Great Challenge- Calling Hydrostatic Engineers...

Ok, I have one crazy problem. Let me first explain I'm not a professional engineer. But I have one crazy idea, and I need advice from Hydrostatic or Mechanical engineers for my object to survive in.....are you ready for it....

The CHALLENGER DEEP. Yes, at the bottom of the Marianas Trench!

If you think I'm a total nutjob/insane at this point, you're right. But it's (maybe) not as difficult as you think! Granted, I feel like a fool for asking here, but I know no other place for so many professional engineers who know their stuff.

I'm not an engineer by trade. I'm, let's say, an inventor. I have knowledge on a broad range of subjects, and normally I make very normal stuff. My object is an encapsulated purely mechanical device, spring powered. Not sure how to describe it, but basically, I have moving mechanical parts and gears only, that I want to design to operate at the bottom of the Challenger Deep. Normally this would be a monumental problem to say the least.

Why I'm not totally mad- the device in question is almost entirely a solid object, with very little internal volume. We're talking less volume than a shot of expresso. Not a submarine, a very small device- therefore it should be possible, as there is less area to overcome imploding due to huge hydrostatic pressure of about 108.6 MPa, at around 36,000 ft. deep in the ocean.