585,761 active members*
4,163 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Harrison m300 lathe problem

Hi guys, as i am very new to machining, i have come across a problem with my lathe, when i make a cut it runs out by .25mm over 75mm cut length, the cuts were taken from tail stock towards the headstock i tried auto feed and manual feed with and without tailstock live centre, i still get same run out, so if there is someone that could help me put this right or if there is a video of how to set up, i would greatfully apreciate it, be gentle with me as im a beginner and do not understand all the jargon. Thanks, Garry.

Hi Garry, you might need to reallign the headstock to the bed ways.

To do this simply, first get a piece of 20mm diam Silver steel about 800mm long, and use this as a test piece when checking headstock/tailstock allignment.

Next, use the fixed steady to centre the two ends, and check the bar between centres for rotational accuracy with a dial indicator.

The silver steel is in the annealed state and with a ground finish, but still hard enough to withstand wear and tear.

Then place the silver steel in the three jaw chuck and LIGHTLY nip up the chuck jaws.

Assuming your chuck is in good nick you can now test the accuracy of your chuck holding capability, by rotating against a dial indicator.

A .02mm (,001") runout over 100mm (4"), is acceptable for most purposes, and with a fairly used lathe this is quite good.

If you have any degree of bellmouthing in the chuck jaws you'll be all over the place if you try to hold work accurately, so a jaw regrind is required if the scroll on the chuck is in good shape, (hardly likely if you have bellmouthing).

The second method, and one advocated by most lathe users, is to mount a piece of 30mm diam mild steel bar in the tree jaw and sticking about 160mm out from the chuck jaws.

Mark a line round the bar, with a pointy tool, about 25mm from the jaw end and another at the end of the bar.