585,728 active members*
4,471 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Okuma OSP7000L Programming help required!

Okuma OSP7000L Programming help required!

Hi, I have a Okuma LB15 MW Lathe with OSP700L controls and I need to program the machine to make 3 slots through 120 degree angle equally spaced which start at the face of the job (Z0) and stop at Z-10.4mm. I believe I have to do this using the Contour Generation Programming Function (SIDE) which carries out arc-form machining on the perihery (side face) of a workpiece by feeding the Z axis while rotating the C axis. I believe the code i need for this is a G132, but that's where i become stuck...I have never used this code before or seen it done. Could some one who has possibly talk me through this process please, and tell me how I go about doing it?
    Many thanks in advance!!

what do You mean with "side face" ? is it side or face? I guess, You work with face - Z exis feed. IGF woul be very helpfull in this case. Check Your control for IGF first ...
    G132 is contour generation, must be prepared by M110, of course ...

It is on the side of the workpiece where i need to put a 120 degree slot which starts at Z0 and finishes at Z-10.4MM, I have equations in which you work out the feed required but that is about it! Is it as simple as G132 Z-10.4(Finishing point) C 240(Finishing point) F 130 or do i need additional information?

Quote Originally Posted by zanellan View Post
    It is on the side of the workpiece where i need to put a 120 degree slot which starts at Z0 and finishes at Z-10.4MM,
    I don't think I understand the part. How many axes do you need running at the same time? IE straight slots on the Zaxis, contoured slots on the C and Z axis, or helical contours on C,Z, and X?

Could you post a partial of the print?