584,866 active members*
4,919 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 6 123

Aluminium machine 1.5mX1m

Hi,
    I have started to design my own Cnc machine...
    I decided to build it with profile aluminium and aluminium sheet...
    Below I attach two photos of it designed in Google's SketchUp (very nice program).
    I would like to use stepper motors in all 3 axes and 4 Hiwin linear guideways (size 15) in every axe.
    Could you tell me what should be the stepper motors' power?
    I am not a professional, so I want it to be not too fast and not too slow...I need a middle satisfying speed and I want lot of accuracy too...
    Also what controller should I look for the motors you suggest?

Thanks in advanceand nice to found you...
    Kostis.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Cnc V3a.JPG   Cnc V3b.JPG  

The motor power required relies on a lot of factors, and some of the most important ones it looks like you haven't decided on yet (although if you have, we'll need to know to help you).

The force required to move something, at a minimum, is (ideally) equal to the coefficient of friction multiplied by the normal force (gravity*mass) of the object you're trying to move. What is the weight of your gantry? Calculate this in pounds. Try to overestimate, not under. Then look at the specifications for the linear bearings you intend to use. I imagine they come with specifications on their friction, along with maximum load etc. which you'll want to check.