585,722 active members*
4,200 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Older Bridgeport with outdated cpu

I have some cnc experience using a router and a benchtop mill and I use VCarvePro to draw and toolpath. I have ran very large files without fail on my machines but have run into something I don't understand. I have recently used a friends EZ trak that was purchased new in 2000 (it runs on a floppy drive). He use Mastercam v9 and has problems with files over about 100k. The machine just stops. I've been told that this software can somehow break the files into smaller parts that the controller can accept but I don't yet know how to do this. I also was able to get a post from VCarve and tried my software. Pretty much the same problem but for some reason I posted identical toolpaths with both programs and the VCarve ran almost three times the code before stopping the machine. There's a RS-232 port on the cabinet next to the floppy drive. Can I run a computer to this port and solve this issue. And if so, would that mean that any printer cable would work or does it need to wired differently.

Thanks for any help,
    Greg

Hi gamazuf,
    I don't know. I hope to visit my friend by early next week. I'll try to get as much info as I can. Is there anything else in particular that would help right now?
    Thanks,
    Greg

A EZTRAK (not prototrak) that was new in 2000 would have a control in a box with a industrial half size mother board. The limiting program size factor is the BMDC. It has a 256K storage buffer. Thus anything bigger requires the ability to DNC.
    The 2 axis machines did not DNC. The 3 axis machines could.
    Bridgeport was married to EZCAM and Feature Cam and I know their posts worked well. Mastercam would be a wild card (unknown) in this mix.