585,930 active members*
3,797 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Sherline Mill Help

hello fellas,
    newbie here and looking for help.
    i recently purchased a sherline mill and need to some advice. my first projects need to me to fly cut the surface and bore some holes. i know sherline sells these accessories but i want to use a bigger fly cutter and want to use a different boring head.
    any suggestions for the fly cutter and i saw a Criterion boring head, would that work on my mill?
    so far, the sherline looks like a well made machine, but it seems like im "stuck" only to use their accessories, am i wrong?
    thanks again!

Quote Originally Posted by DrBadWrench View Post
    hello fellas,
    i recently purchased a sherline mill and need to some advice. my first projects need to me to fly cut the surface and bore some holes. i know sherline sells these accessories but i want to use a bigger fly cutter and want to use a different boring head.
    any suggestions for the fly cutter and i saw a Criterion boring head, would that work on my mill?
    so far, the sherline looks like a well made machine, but it seems like im "stuck" only to use their accessories, am i wrong?
    thanks again!
    Hi DrBadWrench. Welcome to the Zone!

You are only "stuck" by the size of the mill. Size of cut depends on the rigidity of the mill. This tiny mill can only handle small tooling. R8 tooling will not fit this spindle,

Much of the Taig tooling will work with the Sherline mill.

http://www.cartertools.com/

CR.

Sherline mill help