584,805 active members*
5,127 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

First Try From Image

So this is my first attempt to mill something from an image.
    It actually came out better than I thought it would. But I would
    like to be able to do it much better.
    The pattern is an inch by an inch and the cutter was a 1/16 inch ball.
    I wish I could remember what the step over was but I don't remember.

So to make it better I am thinking that if I decrease the step over distance
    I should get the circles to appear more round and probably improve the
    shape of the text?

Then I got to thinking that if I went to say a 1/32 ball I should be able to get the text to cut deeper and improve the look, but that means the step over will have to be like 4 times as short right?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 3D1.jpg   3D2.jpg  

Looks pretty good really,

Try a 4-8% step over (translates to about 0.0025"-0.005" ridges) and try a square end end mill. You actually don't need a ball end unless you have features that require it.

This to me looks like a height map generated by an image with a lot of contrast where the edges between the circles and the background a very crisp. This type of image doesn't really require a ball-end mill and will cut down on ridges on the back of the plate.

Now if you decide to do something complicated like a portrait then the ball end mill would be necessary.

What software are you using to generate the gcode?

Interesting idea about the flat mill. I can see how that would be a good idea for this part.

I actually want to do much more complex ones though. I just did a real simple shallow one cause I didn't have much time to wait around while it cut last night.

I'll try it again tonight with something a little more complex and see how it goes with 4-8%.
    Thanks!