585,938 active members*
3,858 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Homemade PCB 'fit and finish'

Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster.

I am just getting into the CNC world and have spent a few months just reading here, to get up to speed before asking any real questions. My previous experience in the electronics hobby makes the open source driver boards or particular interest to me, so hence this post to brush up on some home hobbyist PCB techniques.

In the past I have etched boards for projects, but they have been very crude. I only have an ink-jet printer without a really convenient method to get toner copies or printouts of my work. I used to make fairly simple single sided boards, using those rub-ons and a sharpie, and needless to say the quality was 'in the basement' to put it mildly. It works, but icky. I used to use the PCB express free CAD to lay out the work and then print it on some paper and use it as a reference to measure and make my traces from.

Now I'm into making some much higher quality boards that can be made in a home lab type setup. I am thinking of picking up a eBay special laser printer (any suggestions?) for toner transfer and using some fish tank parts I have around to make a vertical, heated bubbler tank for my etchant for the quickest etch times and best quality. Armed with a copy of Eagle CAD and soon a laser printer I should be well on my way, I hope.

My main questions are concerning the 'fit and finish' of homemade boards as the title suggests. What I mean by this is making the boards more commercial in appearance for aesthetics, as well as the added convenience and safety of a insulating solder mask and thru hole via inserts.